2010 Calendar


East Midlands Youth Events (Click Here)


Dates for Beginners/Saturday Runs




2nd, 16th


6th, 20th


6th, 20th


3rd, 17th


1st, 15th


5th, 19th


3rd, 17th


7th, 21st


2nd, 16th


6th, 20th


4th, 18th


Reliability Rides

Sundays 7th and 21st February – meet Market Square 9.00am - £1 entry fee (pay at the start)
longer, non-stop rides to ‘test the legs’ before the start of the season


Racing/related activities

Open Racing Events promoted by Sleaford Wheelers in 2010
*Entry details and fees – see relevant racing handbook/website


Saturday 3rd April

10 mile Charity Time Trial on Course C10/10 Quarrington. Organised by Doug Laidlow. Event HQ,  St Botolphs Hall, Grantham Road, Sleaford, 2.00pm start.

Saturday 26th June

50 mile time trial (LRRA promotion organised by Sleaford Wheelers) Course C50/2 (start on A15 2m south of Silk Willoughby) organised by David Smith – headquarters Silk Willoughby village Hall, 2.00pm start – includes Club 50 mile championship, additional entry form to Ann Pike + £2.50 required in addition to Open event entry form

Sunday 11th July

Nev Crane Memorial 25 mile time trial on course C25/35 (Donnington-Osbournby-Quarrington & return) organised by Doug Laidlow - headquarters British Legion Hall, Malting Lane, Donington, 8.00am start (Click for further Info)

Wednesday evening in July-date to be advised

Lincolnshire Road Race league event organised by Dennis Owen, based on Ashby de La Launde; includes Club Road Race Championship

Sunday autumn/early winter (to be arranged)

Cyclo Cross event organised by Mark Colclough and Linda Foster – based at Chandlers/Bridgewater House, Grantham



Club Racing Events in 2010
*Entry Fee £2.00 unless otherwise stated – entry form to Ann Pike at least 7 days before event
Under 18 don't forget Parental Consent Form


Sunday 31st January (subject to weather conditions)

President’s Freewheeling Competition – informal event held during club run (departing Market Square 9.00am) using hill down from Caythorpe

Sunday 7th March
Latest entry 1st March

Early Hilly Time Trial – 22m approx (or 11 mile for one circuit); start 10.00am, adjacent to North Rauceby school


Sunday 4th April
Latest entry 29th March


Early ‘10’; start 10.00am 0.5m south of Quarrington roundabout on A15



1st & 8th April

19th & 26th August

2nd September


7 mile league events, start 6.30pm prompt at layby 2m south of Quarrington roundabout on A15 – enter en bloc to Ann Pike for whole series by 25th March with fee of  £8 for whole series  – best 4 rides to count; individual events can be entered on the night as private trials with payment of £2.00



15th, 22nd, 29th April

6th, 13th, 20th, May

17th, 24th June

1st, 8th, 15th, 22nd, 29th July

5th August


10 mile league events; first two starting 6.30 prompt; others to 22nd July start 7.00pm then last two revert to 6.30pm; meet as for 7-mile league events on A15 - enter en bloc to Ann Pike for whole series by 8th April with fee of  £25 for whole series– best 10 rides to count; individual events can be entered on the night as private trials with payment of £2.00



Thursday 12th August

Club 10-mile Championship – entries £2.50 to Ann Pike by 5th August – course as for other Club 10-mile events



Sunday 12th September
Latest entry 6th September

Sleaford-Skegness Time Trial (approx 35 miles); provisional start time 8.00am, by bridge on A153 under A17


Sunday 10th October


Club Hillclimb – 10.00am (or leave Market Square with Clubrun) at Normanton on Cliffe



Sunday 12th December


Club championship 100 mile and 12 hour events

June/July (dates to be arranged)  - entries on usual Open event entry form to event organiser (to be notified)

Christmas ‘10’, 10.00am on usual course, ridden as teams of 2 riders – fancy dress, followed by buffet lunch

Any event during the year to count


Two 25 mile inter-club events held – the first competition between Sleaford Wheelers, Witham Wheelers, Newark Castle and Lincoln Wheelers clubs; – includes Club 25 mile Championship, additional entry form to Ann Pike + £2.50 required in addition to Open event entry form
Second competition between Sleaford Wheelers, Spalding CC; Boston Wheelers and Yello Vello clubs


ENTERING OPEN EVENTS Click for information

Lincolnshire Road Riding Association (LRRA)
We want to win back the Nev Crane Trophy this year, having lost it in 2009 to Lincoln Wheelers after having the trophy in our possession for the previous two years.  WE NEED YOU ALL TO ENTER events on behalf of the Club in 2010 – you ride, the club gets the points.  Even better, you take a prize and we get even more points, and you may get an award yourself!  All events need a standard CTT Open Event entry form sent to the organiser at least two weeks before the event.  Don’t forget, as late entry = no ride = no points.  Some events in the 2010 calendar are not the same as for 2009, so TAKE NOTE OF DATES - details as follows:



Sunday 11th April

Sunday 18th April


Association’s 10 mile championship – course C10/16; entry fee £7 to John Nicholson, 34 Highfield Road, Saxilby, LN1 2QP
‘Middlemarkers’ 25 – specifically for those slower than 1hr 3 minutes in previous 3 seasons, although associated open event for others wishing to ride; entry fee £7 to John Nicholson (as above)

Saturday 8th May

2-up 15 mile event – choose your partner in advance and don’t forget to include the second page of the entry form! Entry fee £7 per rider (payable to Spalding CC) to C Peel, 1a St Andrews Road, Spalding PE11 2SH

Saturday 26th June

Association’s 50 mile championship – entry fee £7 to Dave Smith

Saturday 15th August

Association’s 25 mile championship – entry fee £7 to Alan Yost, 17 queen Street, Spilsby PE23 5JE

Incorporating Sleaford Wheelers 30 mile championship

Entry as usual with a fee of £2.50 to Ann Pike a week before the event

Sunday 29th August

Association’s 30 mile championship – entry fee £7 to David Herd, 2 Meadow Close, Long Bennington NG23 5EQ

Any date

for 100 mile and 12 hour events – your best ride during the season; simply send (at the same time as your normal entry form to event organiser) a second entry form to Bryan Hopkinson (74 Newark Road North Hykeham LN6 8NA together with a cheque for the LRRA entry fee (£3 in 2008, but check for 2009)

Note    any Lincolnshire 50-mile event will count for the Association’s BAR but those wishing to use any event other than the Championship event will also need to submit an additional entry form and fee to Bryan Hopkinson (as above)
The Committee is considering some form of subsidised entry fees to LRRA events (as suggested at the AGM) so even more reasons to ride.  Remember there are additional awards for juvenile girls, juvenile boys, junior girls, junior boys, and ladies.  We’ll be chasing you to make sure you entry is in!