The Nev Crane Memorial Time Trial

A full report for the 2009 Nev Crane Memorial can be found by clicking HERE

A prolific and successful Cyclist, Nev along with the late John Porter is credited with reviving Sleaford Wheelers after moving to Sleaford and opening a cycle shop in Southgate, his commitment to the club and its members brought him immense respect from both the club members and the wider cycling community.

The Annual Nev Crane Memorial 25 mile Time Trial was first run in 2007. 91 riders came in from far and wide. From those with long memories such an entry for a Lincs event was unknown. In 2008 another cracking field assembled with 105 entries being received. 2009 saw a slight drop down to 94 but never the less a fantastic figure for a county event.The Silver Wheel had been won outright by Nev way back in the 1960's when he was victorious in the prestigious Coventry Eagle Road Race.

Nev's widow Jean presented the Trophy to the Memorial Event. It is presented each year to the quickest rider from the Sleaford Wheelers. The first rider to put his name on it was Mark Colclough. In 2008 it changed hands when Jim Boyle put in a sterling performance to take 2nd place from 105 riders. 2009 and it was all change again with Mark regaining the Trophy.